## Marco Island Senior Softball 2022 Annual Meeting

Commissioner Bill Shurina called the Annual Meeting to order on Tuesday March 8, 2022 at 3:30 PM at the Winterberry Ball Park.

Of the 207 Active players there were 116 attendees for a 55% turnout as follows:

Island Division Players 52

Marco Division Players 46

Gulf Division Payers 16

Other 2

Total 116

After welcoming comments by Bill Shurina, Player Personnel and Charter Committee Chairman Tom Polston gave an overview of the proposed charter changes.

Eight candidates gave brief speeches prior to collection of election ballots

While awaiting results of the election, Bill Shurina invited discussion of any issues from the floor.

John Ranieri, Mike Puskar and Gregg Graycerak disagreed with the Boards decision on the bundling of charter changes.

Ranieri also objected to the uneven distribution of Board members representing the three divisions.

Mike Shone opined that if the charter revision vote resulted in failure of the proposed revision that it be rediscussed at the 2023 annual meeting as three separate issues rather than a combined package.

Chris Flynn felt that pitcher protection masks should be mandatory.

John Nicholas' opinion was that the decision on protection masks should be left to each individual pitcher.

Bill Shurina noted that all pitchers sign a Pitcher Protection Waiver and that, as per a previous Board of Directors proposal, protective equipment would be made available by the league for individuals on request,

The Board of Directors welcomes and appreciates comments from the membership and will discuss them at subsequent Board meetings.

## Senior Softball Board of Directors 2022-2023

The voting was as follows based on total number of votes received by each candidate:

- 1. Ed Caster
- 2. Randy Wesolowski
- 3. Ron Irwin
- 4. Bill Moors

- 5. Bill Thompson
- 6. Gary Revall
- 7. Dan Marinelli

Charter Change approved 70-41.

The revised Charter will be available on the website.

**Motion** to adjourn Ed Caster, Seconded John Remhoff. **Approval** by unanimous voice vote.

Respectfully submitted,

Bill Moors Tom Whitlock